new zine: New Year’s

I made a new mini zine, with the poem I wrote on New Year’s day in it. I’ve made fifty of these, and won’t be printing a second batch once they’re gone. You can paypal 2$+postage (65c/CAN, 1.10$/US, 1.85$/INTL) to bitsofstring@yahoo.ca and I’ll send you one in the mail!

zine cover

Mary Tremonte silk-screened the covers for me, and I’m so happy with them! It’s the first time I’ve ever included a silkscreened element in a zine, but I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to try it. I’ve never been satisfied with photocopies for covers when I’m looking for solid, saturated colour. Silkscreening made all the difference on these.

first page

Mary’s an artist who does all kinds of print and patch-making – maybe you’ve seen her work with justseeds? She included this patch in the bag when I went to pick up my covers – fittingly, as we’d both been at a talk by Jack Halberstam about queer readings on anarchy the night before.

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 11.20.59 PM

One comment

Leave a Reply

